Thirty

I’m turning thirty in 20 days. According to some of my friends, this should be a looming countdown of terror which I should be trying to avoid somehow,  but actually I’m really excited.

My twenties are a tricky decade to analyse. I had some really good times, but then I also had a lot of really crappy times that I try and forget. I spent the first part of my twenties desperately trying to find my place among new friendship groups and doing a lot of things just because ‘the cool kids’ were doing it and found myself having a much lower self-worth than I deserved.

By the end of my twenties, I’d picked out the good friends (the keepers) and stopped doing stuff that I didn’t enjoy or weren’t good for me. I stopped smoking, I stopped eating meat – I even stopped drinking on weeknights (I promise I’m more interesting than I sound). I am incredibly happy with the person that I’ve become, but I know there’s always room for improvement.

Bill Gates was the first person ever to become a billionaire by the time he was 30, and with 20 days left (technically 19 and a half), I think this ship may have sailed for me, but I have a feeling my thirties are going to be pretty great. I’ve got myself a list of things I want to do, and by gum, I’m going to tick them all off. Or at least 2 of them. Maybe 3.animal

Leave a comment